Line Out Records

Earth Loop Recall

More Bands

Earth Loop Recall

2001: Ben McLees and Mark Waterhouse meet, and decide to form a band - using some of Ben's demos as a starting point. The band is initially called All Else Failed. During the summer, Ben and Mark are joined by bassist Dan Gray. The trio record the 5-track 'All Else Failed' EP on a multitrack recorder. The trio spend the rest of the year rehearsing at a space in Stratford, London. The sessions are for the most part drunken and violent, with equipment reguarly broken by the band. 'Like Machines', 'Petra Lena' and 'Glass' are written.

2002: The trio become a 4-piece when keyboardist Joanna Quail responds to an advertisment placed by the band. All Else Failed change their name to Earth Loop Recall just days before their debut gig, which takes place on Friday 1st March at The King's Head in Fulham. During the summer, the band finish recording EP 003, which they give out for free at gigs during this time. In September, ELR are seen by Wasp Factory A&R man Mark Eris at The Dublin Castle in Camden, and are offered a one album deal soon afterwards. Dan leaves the band in November.

2003: Now Wasp Factory's latest signing, ELR start the year with a gig at The Garage in Highbury, which is reviewed by Starvox. The band start work on their debut album, produced by Gareth Small. The majority of the recording is done over Easter bank holiday weekend in Sheffield. The album is then mixed by the band and Gareth in London, and is finished in November.

2004: Gareth joins the band full-time, taking care of live bass and electronics. ELR's debut album 'Compulsion' is released in February to critical acclaim. The album launch night takes place at The Water Rats in King's Cross - a 30 minute set which is universally agreed to be the best ELR gig. This gig is followed by ELR's biggest live show, supporting The Damned at Whitby Spa in April. Several headline shows follow during the summer, most notably at On The Rocks in Shoreditch and Madame JoJos in Soho. ELR play their final show at Islington Carling Academy in October, a gig which is plagued by sound problems. The band end the year by working on new tracks 'Futureless' and 'Compulsion'.

2005: The band release 'Futureless' and 'Compulsion' as free downloads from their official website. Band split in February.

2006: New line-up of Earth Loop Recall forms in November, with Ben and Jo being joined by guitarist Tim Clark and drummer Dan Vickers.

2007: Work begins on 2nd ELR album, working title 'This Means Nothing To You'. Band set to play live dates in Spring.

Band photograph by Phil Marron.

Earth Loop Recall's Website

Earth Loop Recall on MySpace

Earth Loop Recall Forum


  • This is Radio Silence (Self Released) - 2006
  • Futureless (Self Releasd) - 2005
  • Compulsion (Released by Wasp Factory) - 2004
  • All Else Failed EP (Self Released) - 2001

Recent Earth Loop Recall News

More news...

Earth Loop Recall Downloads



More Line Out Downloads...

Earth Loop Recall Gigs

More gigs...

Earth Loop Recall banners

Earth Loop Recall - The Bitter Begin

Earth Loop Recall - The Bitter Begin
Earth Loop Recall - The Bitter Begin

More Line Out banners...